MAMA 2015 Nominees


Last night’s MAMAs nomination party was a buzz at Jozi’s hottest club Harem. Stunning performances from the likes of Bucie, Cassper Nyovest, Black Motion and Nigeria’s Seyi Shay were the highlight of the party. The lovely Nomuzi Mabena and Sizwe Dlomo were the hosts. Judging from the nomination party itself, we are certain the MAMAs will be extremely extravagant with showstopping performances. Nomuzi-Mabena-

Here are the nominations:

Best Male

  • AKA (South Africa)
  • Davido (Nigeria)
  • Diamond (Tanzania)
  • Sarkodie (Ghana)
  • Wizkid (Nigeria)


Best Female

  • Bucie (South Africa)
  • Busiswa (South Africa)
  • Seyi Shay (Nigeria)
  • Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
  • Yemi Alade (Nigeria)


Best Group

  • B4 (Angola)
  • Beatenberg (South Africa)
  • Black Motion (South Africa)
  • P-Square (Nigeria)
  • Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act Transformed by Absolut

  • Anna Joyce (Angola)
  • Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
  • Duncan (South Africa)
  • Patoranking (Nigeria)
  • Stonebwoy (Ghana)


Best Hip Hop

  • Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
  • K.O (South Africa)
  • Phyno (Nigeria)
  • Olamide (Nigeria)
  • Youssoupha (DRC)

Best Collaboration

  • AKA, Burna Boy, Da L.E.S & JR: All Eyes On Me (SA/Nigeria)
  • Davido featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz: The Sound (Nigeria/SA)
  • Diamond & Iyanya: Bum Bum (Kenya/Nigeria)
  • Toofan & DJ Arafat: Apero Remix (Togo/Ivory Coast)
  • Stanley Enow & Sarkodie: Njama Njama Cow Remix (Cameroon/Ghana)

Song of the Year

  • Cassper Nyovest: Doc Shebeleza (South Africa)
  • Euphonik featuring Mpumi: Busa (South Africa)
  • DJ Fisherman & NaakMusiQ featuring DJ Tira, Danger & Dream Team: Call Out (South Africa)
  • K.O featuring Kid X: Caracara (South Africa)
  • Lil Kesh Featuring Olamide & Davido: Shoki Remix (Nigeria)
  • Mavins: Dorobucci (Nigeria)
  • Sauti Sol: Sura Yako (Kenya)
  • Toofan: Gweta (Togo)
  • Wizkid: Show You The Money (Nigeria)
  • Yemi Alade: Johnny (Nigeria)


Best Live

  • Big Nuz (South Africa)
  • Diamond (Tanzania)
  • Flavour (Nigeria)
  • Mi Casa (South Africa)
  • Toofan (Togo)

Video of the Year

  • Crazy –- Seyi Shay Featuring Wizkid; director: Meji Alabi
  • Doors – Prime Circle; director: Ryan Kruger
  • Love You Everyday -–- Bebe Cool; director: Clarence Peters
  • Nafukwa – Riky Rick; director: Adriaan Louw
  • The Sound – Davido featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz; director: Sesan


Best pop & Alternative

  • Fuse ODG (Ghana)
  • Jeremy Loops (South Africa)
  • Jimmy Nevis (South Africa)
  • Nneka (Nigeria)
  • Prime Circle (South Africa)

Best Francophone

  • DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast)
  • Jovi (Cameroon)
  • Laurette Le Pearle (DRC)
  • Tour 2 Garde (Ivory Coast)
  • Toofan (Togo)

Best Lusophone

  • Ary (Angola)
  • B4 (Angola)
  • Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
  • NGA (Angola)
  • Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)

Personality of the year

  • Basketmouth (Nigeria)
  • Bonang Matheba (South Africa)
  • OC Ukeje (Nigeria)
  • Trevor Noah (South Africa)
  • Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)

BonangCongratulations to all the nominees. We can’t wait to find out who will take the awards home on 18 July in KwaZulu-Natal. You too can be a part of the action by buying your tickets, which will be on sale from 18 June at Computicket.